some thoughts

His solitude with Us. When God gets us alone by affliction, heartbreak, or temptation, by disappointment, sickness, or by thwarted affection, by a broken friendship, or by a new friendship – when He gets us absolutely alone, and we are dumbfounded, and cannot ask one question, then He begins to expound. Watch Jesus Christ’s training of the twelve. It was the disciples, not the crowd outside, who were perplexed. They constantly asked Him questions, and He constantly expounded things to them; but they only understood after they had recieved the Holy Spirit. If you are going on with God, the only thing that is clear to you and the only thing God intends to be clear is the way He deals with your own soul…..We imagine we understand where the other person is, until God gives us a dose of the plaguy of our own hearts. There are whole tracts of stubborness and ignorance to be revealed by the Holy Spirit in each one of us and it can only be done when Jesus gets us alone…Jesus can expound nothing until we get through all the noisy questions of the head and are alone with Him.” – Oswald Chambers.

I’ve been reading “My utmost for His highest” as part of my morning wake up. And although I read this a few days ago, I haven’t really stopped thinking about this one. Mostly I just love how God KNOWS what is best for us. Our sights are not often set into the future, instead our sights are usually set on what we think is best for us in the present. At least for me that can often be the case. But I LOVE that Jesus constantly and consistently reminds me that He has much more in store for me than I usually want to acknowledge.

I imagine, that if I was face to face with Him, and when my questions cease I imagine that with a twinkle in His eye and maybe with a faint smile, He would remind me that I very rarely have the best for me in mind…rather I usually have what is most comfortable in mind. I imagine that with a faint smile He would remind me that all that I have gone through is for my freedom. and my joy.

And what a Freedom and Joy it is. He constantly reminds me that He is always for my joy and freedom, even when I don’t think so. Even when I am a brat. It is only when my whining, groaning and questions cease that I am able to remember this. It is only when I remember that He is for my joy and freedom, that I joyfully submit to Him. Any time in which my heart is unsettled, when my mind wanders my submission is begrudging at best, which in reality is also at worst.

Thank Jesus that He still works in me for my joy, and for my freedom.

Hansen

Leave a Reply

