The Blood of Christ

My actions do not always line up with my thoughts. Similarly my thoughts do not often line up with my beliefs. Now I don’t know if it’s because of the highly individualistic culture I’ve grown up in, or I have never really felt what it’s like to lose everything, or maybe it’s just in my nature. Probably a combination of all three. In any case, I don’t often remember that it is because of the Blood of Christ that allows me to draw nearer to God. Oh sure, I say it all the time, and I believe it. But there are times where I catch myself thinking something along the lines of “If I get over this God will love me more”. Religious legalistic thoughts at the core. I forget that it isn’t because of my actions that God loves me more….or less. He loves me despite all my shortcomings, all my failure, my fears….my weakness. My conscience is clear, and remains clear because of the His shed blood. For that I am thankful, because without Him and His pursuit of me, I would be morally bankrupt (this year, and even before I became a Christian)

His blood covers my sin. Now and forever. Because of that I can communicate with the One who heals and breaths life in me.

Dear Jesus, Help me never to forget that it is Your very blood that allows me nearness to You. Nothing more and nothing less.

Hansen

Leave a Reply

