Day 2- What are you passionate about

Lately, I have really been thinking about what I am truly passionate about. What I want to see, especially in the Church…Where I want to be, in life, as God moves about in the hearts and lives of men and women. The answers I have come up with, made me realize that 1) I am SO inadequate for it (I always will be, but by His Grace He still uses someone like me) and 2) the things I want to see in other people is the thing that needs the most changing, and strengthening in me.

One thing I am extremely passionate about is men in the Church (universal) stepping into leadership. In whatever capacity necessary. This may mean in the Church (organization) or if they are younger and in school, that may mean in the Christian group there. In all honesty, there are some people that are natural born leaders, they are charismatic, well-spoken, visionary individuals. People naturally follow them. And then there are the others that may have leadership qualities, but it doesn’t come naturally to them. In fact, being a leader, the desire to be at the forefront of the group doesn’t come naturally to them. I tend to fall into the latter category.

I know that I have been called to lead (in a more formal position), and I know that, by His Grace, I have the capacity and ability to lead. I also know that I need to develop and strengthen these qualities. Being a leader is difficult, it takes time, effort, bruises, bumps, and perseverance to develop. It will only be by His Grace, that men will step up and become Godly leaders. I hope and pray the same for me.

Another thing that i want to see are men and women just take courage and go talk to a complete stranger/or go somewhere to talk to others about Jesus. I don’t want them to sit in comfort, I want them to be challenged, in how they view other cultures…and in how they view their faith. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t believe comfort is necessarily a bad thing. I don’t believe being comfortable is wrong, but when being comfortable trumps what Jesus wants us to sacrifice. That is wrong.

Don’t take this as just me pointing the fingers. Whenever I write entries like this, it’s never just about “you.” I see this very much as a challenge to myself as well. The things I am most passionate about, and what I believe is lacking in many of the young men and women of the Church I am around, is what I am lacking as well (the need to step into [leadership] and step out of [our comfort zone]). It would be highly arrogant of me to say that I have myself handled. And an outright lie. The fact is, I need to be courageous enough to step into, and develop my leadership qualities. And I need to be courageous enough to step out of my comfort zone (in terms of people, cultures etc). I naturally do not do either, but by His incredible Grace, I am now free to do both. And by His Grace, He will work both within me….and you as well.

Things that made me smile today:

– I love working out

– looking at pictures of my nephew

– reading good books and listening to good solid messages

– thinking about working with a highly respected peer, and good friend, to write/create a curriculum that will aid in developing good leaders

Hansen

Leave a Reply

