It’s a bird! No, It’s a plane! It’s…….

Day 03 – My favourite superhero

As I created this list, one of the fun topics that I knew that I would have to put in would be this one. Now it’s no secret that I LOVE superheros and comic books. I grew up on them, heck when I was younger I wanted superpowers. Now I’m not going to go all fanboy on you (although, I’m not entirely too sure I’m knowledgeable enough to actually do that). However if you were to ask me which of the two giant comic book companies that I preferred (Marvel or DC) I would unequivocally say that I enjoy DC superheroes much more. Sure Marvel’s Spider-man and X-men characters are much more human and relate-able, but there’s just something about DC superheroes that are just enjoyable. There is just something about them that stirs up emotions of excitement that Marvel superheroes never could.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike Spiderman or other Marvel characters, it’s just that at the end of the day, if I were to choose a collection of comics to read I would choose DC characters.

There are many DC characters that I really enjoy. Some of my favourites include: The Flash (Wally West, but moreso Barry Allen), Green Lantern (Kyle Rayner and Hal Jordan), Batman, Green Arrow and the Blue Beetle. However there is one character that stands head and shoulders above them all. If anything he’s the one that kick started the superhero craze. He’s died once, and come back to life. I would argue that he is probably one of the most iconic characters DC has. He is none other than Superman.

Alex Ross has some of the best comic book art I have ever seen

Many people find him boring, too one dimensional…too goody goody, righteous, invincible…etc. And I can see their points, but that’s what I like about him. That is what draws me to him. When I was younger, one of the biggest reason that Superman was (still is) my favourite superhero is because he inspired hope. He essentially personified truth, justice, hope and freedom. And in a way, many writers still write him as such (while trying to make him more human). It would be a lie to say that when I was younger I didn’t want to do the same. When I read comics, I would often imagine myself doing what Superman did. Inspiring hope…personifying truth, justice and freedom. As geeky as that sounds, I believe that all children and younger people have huge dreams of doing something similar.

So yes, Superman is my favourite superhero. Not because I can relate, but because of what he represents, inspires and fights for. And to me, that is what a superhero should be.

Things that made me smile today:

– listening to a brilliant message by Tim Keller (convicting but joy bringing) reminding me that true spiritual growth isn’t instantaneous, but rather it can/is a slow process that may not be noticeable but it still happens.

-starting an IBS (inductive bible study) on 1st Timothy

-shoveling the snow

– writing this blog post and remembering why I enjoy comics and Superman in particular

Hansen

Leave a Reply

