Back to our regular programming

Day 10 – Most inspiring Asian.

This topic was submitted by Andrew Tan Wei Aun. When I first saw this topic from him I thought that it would be easy to answer. However as the day of the topic drew closer, I realized that this topic would be a little more difficult to answer than I first anticipated. You see, there are a few Asian people that inspire me, but there are only a few amongst those few that “inspire” me. You know what I mean? It’s like, I can be inspired by the food artistry and creativity of Masaharu Morimoto, but his work doesn’t inspire me to pursue a career in a kitchen as a professional chef. For me, being inspired means that I am willing to pursue with everything that I have. And so, with that definition in mind, I had to ask myself “Does this man (or woman) make me want to pursue something, live better etc.” Essentially the question is “Does this person make me want to take action.” And if the answer is essentially a no, then I cross them off my list. So the people I have crossed off the list are: Masaharu Morimoto, Jackie Chan, Jet Li, Bruce Lee, Hung Huynh (Top Chef season 3 winner), MC Jin, Kevin Wu (KevJumba), Wongfu Productions, David Choi, Nigahiga, and a few others. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate them, in fact I love them all. Masaharu Morimoto being one of my favourite chefs because of his artistry in the kitchen. KevJumba, Wongfu, and Nigahiga are hilarious. D.Choi is incredibly talented, as is MC Jin. And Jackie, Bruce and Jet are legends in the film industry. However, though all of them are incredible and talented, they just haven’t inspired me into a genuinely passionate pursuit. And although I enjoy cooking, martial arts, and vlogging/blogging, I was never interested enough at it to pursue it as a full fledged career.

The Asians that inspire me most into action are the men and women of faith that I have met, read about, or even heard about. They are men and women who understand, desire and seek above all else: Jesus…even at the possible loss of their life or “freedom.” Men like Francis Chan, who left growing fame and recognition and a secure job (as pastor of Cornerstone), to pursue Jesus. That inspires me to take action, but at the same time it does fill me with dread. Not because I hate change, I don’t hate change. I can deal with that. In fact sometimes I embrace it. But rather it’s because the call to sacrifice what I find comfortable,safe and known is something I would rather not do. The call to give my entire life to God and not be in control of even a tiny bit of it…yeah, it’s frightening. I would be lying if I said that I can do that with great joy, and I’m singing praises and dancing, clapping and being all “hallelujah! sing it!”. Because I can’t. Because there are sometimes, some instances, that don’t allow for loud, vocal praises. However, even in moments where there is wrestling, doubt, regret, tears and other emotions like that. Even in those moments, a statement never rings truer than “Jesus is still good, and He is more than enough.” When I look at the lives of those Asians (Francis Chan, Watchman Nee, Brother Yun, all those that have already died for the Gospel, my brothers and sisters in countries “closed” to the gospel, my C4C brethren etc.) I see much of that statement reflected in their lives. I inspires me to pursue Jesus with everything that I have, and not just speak it from my mouth. But to really grab hold of it and let it shape much of how I make decisions and whatnot.

Sorry Andrew, this may seem like quite the cop-out answer. But I can tell you that this is the truth. I aspire to be like them.The men and women of God who, above all else recognized that Jesus is our beautiful reward and was willing to give all (including their life) to acquire Him. May that be mine (and your) desire as well.

Hansen

Things that made me smile:

because I didn’t include one in my last post, I think I will include yesterday as well. In no particular order:

– doing floor set at work with people I get along with really well.

– finding a site that has every single season of Top Chef

– working out

– little kids that are unintentionally funny

– working with people that I enjoy being around

– having a dream about me cooking

– getting multiple compliments on the uniqueness of my name

Leave a Reply

