Valentines day post….just a little early.

It’s Valentines day soon. haha usually this is the day that most people are either all sickeningly mushy, cynically bitter, or depressed because they have to spend it alone. I am going to do something a little different. Now I’m definately not the first to do this, and I’m not going to be the last. So I am hardly a trailblazer, or original. However, it seems like Valentines day (although good intentioned) has really just turned into a day of pure materialistic…something or other.

So without further delay…

To my female friends,

I appreciate all of you. Every single one of you have been a blessing to me. It has been a joy to get to know you all. Now you may not have realized it, but God has used you to raise my standards, which I am thankful for. I have been encouraged by you and challenged by you. Thank you.

There have been a few that God has used to press me, change me, challenge me, encourage me, and all around grow me.

To Hannah, Carina, Heather and Sarah: thank you for your hospitality. Your personalities bring me great joy.

Sarah, your love of cooking and food makes me get my creative juices flowing, thinking about new recipes and conceptualizing dishes. Your love of nature photography and the pictures I have seen remind me of the incredible beauty of God’s creation. Your reminder to me that everything works out in God’s time has been an encouragement, and a gentle and painful challenge to me that I just don’t trust Jesus as much as I should. But He’s been using that reminder to press me in the area of control.

Carina, the fact that you are stepping out and planning prayer for next year is an incredible step of courage. It is also encouraging to see you stepping out in faith, and being willing to put yourself out there for the sake and glory of God.

Heather, your love and talent for singing is incredible. The fact that you use it to worship God is smile-bringing and joy-giving. Continue to cultivate that for Jesus.

Hannah, your sarcasm and humour never fails to make me laugh. Loud and long. May God continue to cultivate both of them so that you will use it for His glory. God has used your blunt honesty to wreck me….in all honesty. It’s not a bad thing. It’s a completely necessary thing, for my growth, but most importantly for His fame. Thank you. It’s encouraging to see you stepping out into leadership, I know you’ll be excellent.

To Krista: your hunger and passion to know Jesus is incredible. I think from the first time I met you to now, I have seen you grow in leaps and bounds. It’s always encouraging to see new believers come to understand the Gospel, dig into the Word and just desire to learn….even the hard truths. Keep going. Let God press you on the hard things….especially the hard things, because His painful surgeries and bone resets are for our good. and ultimately to bring us into a fuller understanding and deeper closer worship of Him.

To Rachel: The way you pray, the fact that it’s so intimate, is a reminder and encouragement that we get to talk to God the Father. Because of Jesus the Son. And that thought, that notion completely blows me away.

To all of you: Again, thank you. You are all a blessing to me. I don’t know what else to say except this: Continue to press into Jesus. Continue to seek Him…because we get Jesus. Continue in reading His Word through the power of the Holy Spirit. Continue to pray. Pray consistently. Pray fervently. In all that you do, pray. And may all that be for His Glory.

Hansen

These two songs came to my mind as I was typing this:

One thought on “Valentines day post….just a little early.

  1. Krista

    Hey Hansen,

    Thank-you. You’re words mean a lot. I pray that I continue to seek God’s word forever! You have been so encouraging in both my thirst for knowledge and in my prayer life! Can’t wait to hear all about your trip when you get back!

    God bless, and Happy Valentines Day.

    Krista

    ps: awesome beats haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

